If you would like to give other people access to content that is only accessible with Globus Connect Personal (for example, because that content lives on your laptop or desktop), you will need to create a Shared endpoint. In order to create a shared endpoint with Globus Connect Personal, you will need access to a feature called Globus Plus. This page explains how to configure Globus Plus and start sharing.
Full (and full-sponsored) accounts only
Globus Plus is only available to people who have a full-service (or full-sponsored) account. Essentially, if you have a Stanford email address, then you can use Globus Plus!
You might not need Globus Plus
You only need Globus Plus if you want to give other people access to some of the files on your computer. If you want to share content on a server (running Globus Connect Server), Globus Plus is not needed, because it only works with Globus Connect Personal.
Beware High-Risk Data
If your endpoint is used with High Risk data, then you may not run Globus Connect Personal on it.
The first step is to ask that Globus Plus be enabled on your account.
Enable Globus Plus
Globus Plus is a feature that has to be enabled on a user’s account. It is enabled by adding you to a special group in the Globus infrastructure.
You only need to do this once, even if you have multiple Globus Connect Personal endpoints.
To get Globus Plus enabled on your account, email email@example.com. Provide your SUNetID, and say that you would like to be added to the Stanford Globus Plus group. You should receive a response within two business days.
When SRCC Support processes your request, you will receive an invitation to join the Stanford University Globus Plus Group.
Accepting the invitation will send you to the Globus web site (be sure to log in with your Stanford credentials), where you will be be asked to confirm your information and read & agree to terms.
Once you have accepted, you will be added to the group! Your account should then be enabled for Globus Plus. Remember, you must accept the invitation in order to be added to the group, and your Globus Plus access will not start working until you join the group!
You can confirm that Globus Plus is enabled by going to your Globus account page.
Remember, you only need Globus Plus enabled once. Even if you have multiple Globus Connect Personal endpoints, as soon as Globus Plus is enabled on your account, it will start working for all current (and future) Globus Connect Personal endpoints.
You now need to go to your endpoint, to decide what you want to share.
Now that Globus Plus has been enabled, you need to tell Globus Connect Personal which directories might be shared. To do this, right-click on the Globus icon in the toolbar, and choose Options from the pop-up menu.
When you select Options from the pop-up menu, the options window opens. Go to the Access tab.
If you plan on sharing files with someone else, that directory (or its parent) needs to be listed, and the Shareable box must be selected. If the folder is not listed, or the Shareable box is not selected.
Why do I need to do this?
Whenever you want to use Globus Connect Personal to share something with others, you must enable the sharing both in the app, and on the Globus web site. This is intentional, to help reduce the chances of sharing too much by accident.
For example, let’s say that you have the following directory tree:
C:\Users\Me\Sharing C:\Users\Me\Sharing\User1 C:\Users\Me\Sharing\User2
If you plan on sharing the
User2 directories with multiple
people, you have two choices:
You can have separate entries for
C:\Users\Me\Sharing\User2. This would be the safest option, but it means more entries to manage.
You can have one entry for
C:\Users\Me\Sharing. This is the most flexible option, but it means you may accidentally grant access to other things inside of the
Once you have configured the directories to allow sharing, save your changes. You are now ready to start sharing from your endpoint!
To begin sharing content from your Globus Connect Personal endpoint, follow the guide How To Share Data Using Globus, part of Globus’s How To series. Globus’ guide will step you through the process of creating a Shared Endpoint, which gives other people access to a limited set of directories on your Globus Connect Personal endpoint.
That’s it! You should now be sharing part of your endpoint with others.
Once in a while (say, once a quarter), you should check on your shared endpoints, and on your Globus Connect Personal access configuration, to make sure you are not over-sharing. Don't forget, make a calendar reminder!
Don't Fall Asleep
Your Shared Endpoint will only work when Globus Connect Personal is running, and your laptop or desktop is awake and connected to a network. If your endpoint does fall asleep, any in-progress transfers will automatically resume once it wakes up.